Lessons on children and nature

Last time, my family visited my home country, we stopped by to local farms, gardens and plantations. I wanted to teach my girls about the rich diversity of the country, I wanted them to see new animals, smell new flowers and touch new tress. Although Ecuador is itty bity tiny, it has the biggest biodiversity per area in the world!

55

As anticipated, my niñas were curious about the new things that they were seeing but it was heart warming when I noticed their feelings of deep appreciation for the nature that surrounded them. My children taught me to appreciate the scenery more for its beauty than for its purpose. I guess when you do that, it is easier to feel gratitude for all the things, new and old, small and big, that are part of your life.

downloadfff

After returning home, I researched for farms and gardens in our town so we can keep up our visits to experience nature in such places. The four seasons gave us many opportunities to visit different settings.

In spring, we went to the strawberry patch and make yummy strawberry jam.

IMG_1988

In the beginning of summer, we went to lavender and blueberries farms, and made lavender ice cream.

image

During the fall, we visited the pumpkin patch, played in the corn maze and made pumpkin pies.

IMG_3927

You may ask, what about winter? We did visit a farm in a cold winter day. Everything was gray and kind of dead. But, my little kids didn’t seem disappointing of the view since they knew that gray days do not last forever and green days always come for those who wait patiently.

Leave a Reply

